Grand Officers from Beta Phi

Lawrence A. Oxley, 14th Grand Basileus (1933-1935)
I. Gregory Newton, 24th Grand Basileus (1958-1961)
John H. Scott, First Vice Grand Basileus (1998-2000)
George A. Isabell, Grand Keeper of Records and Seal (1937-1944)
G. W. Cox, Grand Marshall (1933 Conclave - Durham, NC)
Asa T. Spaulding, appointed to chair the fraternity's initial housing committee (1936)

District Officers and Committee Leadership

John H. Scott, Sixth District Representative and Executive Committee
Brian O. Beverly, Sixth District Representative, (2014-Current)
Quantella Williams, Economic Development Committee, Sixth District; 1999 Leadership Conference Committee
Charles Blackmon, Budget and Finance Committee Chairman, Sixth District; National Insurance and Benefits Committee; 1999 Leadership Conference Committee
Larry Shealey, 1999 Leadership Conference Committee; Technology Committee
James Mills, 2008-2009 District Marshall, 1999 Leadership Conference Committee
Ronald Peterson, Talent Hunt Committee Chairman, Sixth District
Donnie Cox, Undergraduate Advisors Committee Chairman, Sixth District
Jim Harper, 2008 - 2010 Chair, Undergraduate Advisor's Committee; 2010 - Present Assistant Keeper of Records and Seal Sixth District

Financial Industry

North Carolina Mutual Life Insurance Company has had four of its presidents to be members of Beta Phi Chapter: William Kennedy, Jr., Asa T. Spaulding, Joseph W. Goodloe, and William Kennedy, III


Mutual Community Savings Bank has had three presidents to be members of Beta Phi Chapter: John S. Stewart, F. V. "Pete" Allison, and George Quick


Mechanics and Farmers Bank's founding president was a Beta Phi Chapter Basileus: John H. Wheeler

Education & Academics

North Carolina Central University - 2010 Interim Associate Dean of the College of Liberal Arts : Jim Harper, Ph. D.


North Carolina Central University - Master Degree Health Services Administration 2010: Kurtis Stewart


Currently doing fellowship training in Nephrology at Duke University Hospital - March 2011 Completed my residency in Internal Medicine at Duke University Hospital - June of 2010 Board certified in Internal Medicine -August 2010: Marcono Hines, Jr, MD

Politics & Civics

Rencher N. Harris, Durham City Council;Durham Board of Education

Thomas Bass, Durham Board of Education
John H. Lucas, Durham Board of Education; Former President of National Education Association, Shaw University - President, Hillside High School - Principal; NC Association Of Educators - President
John S. Stewart, Durham City Council

Asa T. Spaulding, Durham County Commission
Henry M. Michaux, NC House of Representatives
Eric Michaux, NC Board of Transportation
Fred D. McNeill, Jr., believed to be the first African American elected to a Durham county-wide political campaign in 1968, Board of Education Edgar Murphy, NC Board of Education
William A. Marsh, Jr., NC Board of Elections
A. Leon Stanback, Jr., Superior Court Judge, Durham District Attorney
W. G. Pearson, Jr., Superior Court Judge
George Quick, Chairman, Durham County Hospital Corporation
Charles Blackmon, Chairman, Durham County Hospital Corporation; NC Governor's Task Force
Howard Fitts, Durham County Board of Health
Carl Hodges, Durham County Farm Extension Agency
Joel C. Smith, Durham Education Network
Thomas Davis, Durham Planning and Zoning Commission; M. L. King, Jr. Steering Committee; Durham Civic Center Commission
William Sutton, President, National Association of Black Journalist
Lowell Siler, Durham County Attorney
Brian C. Wilks, District Court Judge